You may have heard of or even been partaking in the sensation sweeping the landscape, Pokémon Go. Despite it’s ability to get people outside and into all sorts of trouble, one thing you may or may not have discovered is that the iOS version of the app grants itself full access to your Google account if you use that as your login method. The Android version of the app does not do this.
Why is this bad?
According to Google, “when you grant full account access, the application can see and modify nearly all information in your Google Account (but it can’t change your password, delete your account, or pay with Google Wallet on your behalf).” Although Pokémon Go may not be doing anything untoward, it is never a good idea to provide more permissions than necessary to parties that don’t need it. There is really no reason for Pokémon Go to be able to read all of your e-mails or go through your search history.
Luckily, the developer Niantic has already released an updated version of the app (v1.0.1) in the Apple App Store that no longer requests full account access when you login with your Google account. However, what if you had already granted it access?
Removing Full Access
To ensure that the app no longer has full access, or to remove that access, visit Google’s security settings to manage apps connected to your account. You will see a full list of apps that currently have access to your Google account, along with whether they have full access or access to certain services only. Although you can’t change the level of access that an app has, you can remove it from having any access by clicking on the app name, then the remove button.
Now is a good time to review which apps you no longer use and remove them from being able to access your Google account. You can never have enough security in this information age, so the closer you monitor your access privileges the better.